Chevron Left
Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아대학교 산타크루스캠퍼스의 Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
3,040개의 평가

강좌 소개

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

최상위 리뷰

GS

2017년 8월 31일

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JB

2020년 10월 16일

An excellent course with some good hands on exercises in both R and excel. Not for the faint of heart mathematically speaking, assumes a competent understanding of statistics and probability going in

필터링 기준:

Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis의 780개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: Xiaomeng W

2019년 12월 13일

I've reviewed probabilities and basic Bayesian methods in this course. The quizzes have good explanation and the additional reading materials are helpful. I'm learning the next course: Techniques and models, which is also great (except that we don't have free access to the quizzes).

교육 기관: Sujith N

2018년 2월 24일

As a primer to Bayesian Statistics, this course covers the basics at a brisk pace. No time is wasted in explaining the basics of Probability theory; which I have always found, at best, to be distracting in the other similar courses I have taken. Thank you, Herbert Lee and Coursera.

교육 기관: Mikhail G

2020년 6월 6일

An interesting course which gives an opportunity not only to study some purely 'technical' skills but also to think a bit about statistical problems in a broader context. It won't make you 'Bayesian', however, it will help to understand the philosophy of this statistical 'sect'.

교육 기관: liqul

2019년 4월 27일

There are books and courses out there teaching you how to use machine learning tools to solve real problems. But there aren't so many like this starting from the Bayesian way. Besides, this is a good entry point for me to read the book "Pattern Recognition and Machine Learning".

교육 기관: Eric L

2020년 6월 13일

I have signed up for this course because I encountered Bayesian concepts through work (automotive industry), and I wanted to improve my understanding of the underlying basics. What can I say, my expectations have been met! Thanks for offering this course through this platform!

교육 기관: Angelo F

2017년 1월 8일

Excellent introductory course to bayesian statistics. I'd like to thank Professor Lee, University of Santa Cruz, Coursera and all supporting staff for the opportunity. I'd enjoy if you provided intermediate and advanced courses on bayesian statistics that covers more topics.

교육 기관: Christos H

2021년 1월 8일

Great course. Very clear introductory overview of Bayesian statistics and differences/similarities with the frequentist approach. Well balanced between video lectures, support materials, quizzes and hands-on problems. Looking forward to the next step - hierarchical models.

교육 기관: Chipo N

2020년 8월 31일

It's quite a challenging and informative course. I don't regret taking it it has opened up my mind to Bayesian statistics especially that this is the pass I want to take in my life. Thank you for the support and opportunity given to me. i will forever remain grateful.

교육 기관: Marcin K C V P

2017년 9월 23일

I took this course due to my interest in machine learning and graphical models. I like the approach and execution. I recommend it for anyony interrested in statistical inference. Some topics require looking up external sources, like wikipedia, but it is not an issue.

교육 기관: Chandanie N

2020년 12월 26일

The course was excellent. The concepts were explained very clearly and were supported with well suited quizzes and applications. The course definitely created an interest in learning further in Bayesian Statistics. The instructor was very clear in presenting theory.

교육 기관: Quinn L

2017년 3월 18일

This class is very much an intro, so if you're looking for advanced topics you it might not be challenging. But this is a really good intro. The lectures are good and the supplemented material is great. I wish there was more R, but I'm very happy with the class.

교육 기관: Clive S H

2018년 1월 15일

Interesting, challenging, informative, entertaining, Herbie Lee is an excellent presenter of a very well prepared introduction to what seems to be a more rational and coherent approach to extracting, understanding and evaluating quantative information from data

교육 기관: Ying L

2017년 7월 3일

It's a great course to understand the fundamentals of the Bayesian Statistics. The easy quiz which meant not to deter the students could be improved a bit. For serious learning, reviewing the questions in honor sections and the supplemental materials is a must.

교육 기관: Dongliang Z

2022년 12월 15일

Excellent course! All the formula is scary in Bayesian Statistics, howerver the professor made it not so hard to understand. The interpreation of the formula is good. The assignments and exercises are very helpful. The R demostration is extremely helpful.

교육 기관: Danysh S

2021년 2월 2일

This course really put into perspective the different approaches of statistics, and how each of them are so valuable. With the aid of the readings given before the lectures, Sir Herbert Lee made the "scary" Math of statistics a little less scary ^-^

교육 기관: Alysa

2017년 6월 4일

This is a short course and it was a great introduction to Bayesian inference. Lessons went through both theory and application. I found the videos easy to follow and that they prepared me for the quizzes. I also really valued learning how to use R.

교육 기관: Kelvin P

2017년 4월 4일

I really like the assignments, they are very well designed and helped a lot in consolidating my understanding of the topic. In my opinion, these assignments are the reason why coursera courses are better than the video lectures available elsewhere.

교육 기관: 来健 张

2021년 10월 30일

Excellent course with lots of facinating exercises of real world applications! Learning from doing!! Can't love the course more!!

However, the difficult part was left with no explanation. But this is helpful for the starter of baysian statistics.

교육 기관: Francisco C

2017년 9월 22일

Excellent introduction to Bayesian inference. Dr. Lee struck an exceptional balance between presenting concepts and ideas with self-learning through the homework quizzes. I look forward to learning more analysis techniques in subsequent courses!

교육 기관: BaoYiping

2016년 9월 5일

it's very helpful for me to understand the Bayesian statistics. things are clearly stated and the quiz are good. Many thanks! It's better to have a further course on the Monte Carlo. It's better if the regression can be talked more in details.

교육 기관: Ruoxiao S

2019년 8월 15일

This class is pretty helpful for the beginners and the instructor has a clear organization of the lecture. The Quizzes are also a good way to know what you have mastered. I have a better and deeper understanding of the Bayesian Statistics now.

교육 기관: Nicholas P

2018년 1월 13일

Highly informative. Prof. Herbert Lee is a great professor providing very thorough notes and material for the Bayesian paradigm of Statistics. I would highly recommend this to any who are interested. It is also a great introduction to using R.

교육 기관: Michail L

2019년 8월 4일

It was an amazing course. Prof. Lee is an excellent teacher, the lectures were very interesting and illuminating, and the problems challenging and based on the material discussed. Highly recommended to get a basic idea of Bayesian statistics.

교육 기관: Kilder U

2020년 7월 25일

A good introduction to Bayesian Statistics. Not too deep, but you need to have some familiarity with probability notation. Also it seems it recently had some manteinance because broken links in lectures are now redirected to correct links.

교육 기관: Jason R

2017년 4월 8일

I found this course to be incredibly useful to learn Bayesian statistics and a useful guide for applying the information in r and excel. I would definitely recommend it to anyone interested in furthering their understanding on this topic.