Chevron Left
Social Norms, Social Change I(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 Social Norms, Social Change I 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
1,947개의 평가

강좌 소개

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

최상위 리뷰

PE

2019년 3월 5일

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

JC

2019년 8월 4일

Achei o curso muito interessante e importante para entender a minha area de trabalho com certeza abso;uta irei implementar os conhecimentos adquiridos e estou pronta para entrar na 2 parte do curso

필터링 기준:

Social Norms, Social Change I의 489개 리뷰 중 401~425

교육 기관: Desiree B

2017년 10월 1일

Overall a great course. The lectures where clear and there was a good ballance in reading and listening material. In the future I would like to see a wider diversity of examples used instead of mainly child marriage and OD.

교육 기관: Anna K

2020년 4월 2일

Good and understandable introduction to the theory of social norms. Examples used are illustrative and helpful. Sometimes, the readings and lectures were repetitive rather than complementary.

교육 기관: Nik N A S N M

2020년 7월 1일

Solid concepts to dissect collective behaviours and unpack the phenomenons. Helpful examples by UNICEF. Would be better if slides are also included, but overall, great! Thank you, Prof :)

교육 기관: Maryann F

2020년 4월 28일

Helpful framework for determining how to shift social norms. The detail in which the instructor teases out the nuanced ways to assess why individuals act the way they do is very helpful

교육 기관: Mai M

2017년 7월 5일

It's useful , it help me to know more about spreading of any norm,custom ,etc and help me to know ways of distinguish it and helping people to differentiate between good and bad one .

교육 기관: Ricardo R I

2016년 10월 9일

It's very useful. I think at first lectures there is neccesary a synopsis about the concepts and their classification or relation, because as you deep the relation is more confused.

교육 기관: Sezin I

2017년 1월 9일

I enroll the course just for listening videos and following the readings,

I really enjoyed it, and learned it, it gives another perspective to see the whole community

thanks a lot

교육 기관: NEHA P

2020년 4월 28일

Good insights about social problems and how various organisations working hard to change mindset of people living in rural areas. Learned new concepts about norms. Good Work!

교육 기관: Unzia I

2022년 10월 2일

The lecturer is knowledgeable and easy to understand, the examples used are so relatable. The videos and notes are detailed and easy to use. This has been so great.

교육 기관: Mahesh J

2016년 11월 8일

It was a good course even though it was a bit theoretical. Its a great start for someone who has no background in social norms. I am glad I took this course though

교육 기관: Natasha

2017년 2월 6일

The course is very detailed, with a strong methology and useful examples. Nevertheless, it wasn't always simple to follow and the last week was very demanding.

교육 기관: Armand B

2019년 7월 17일

This is a nice course if you want to chose social science field. In terms of Research, you are be able to how to formulates questions based on this course.

교육 기관: Amelie D

2021년 7월 1일

The course was easy to follow, and the concepts were well explained. The combination of videos and learning material was a big help.I learned a lot.

교육 기관: Florence O

2021년 7월 20일

This course was very useful and inciteful. The course content is very detailed and intermittent quizzes very useful in facilitating learning.

교육 기관: Mira L

2019년 8월 2일

The content was interesting but some parts were repetitive to the point of some confusion. I really enjoyed the new information! Thank you.

교육 기관: Miryana V

2019년 7월 12일

excellent course, well thought out and great examples with readings to make sure you are on track with the syllabus and provide feedback.

교육 기관: Nidhi S

2022년 6월 23일

Its a good course to understand the societal ways. The Instructor is great. its a unicef combined initiative. going for part 2.

교육 기관: Pete B

2019년 3월 20일

Good presentation, accessible reading material, and all easy to digest - but the final lecture on measuring was sort of long...

교육 기관: Kristi D

2018년 2월 25일

I learned a lot and I enjoyed the professor's demeanor and personality. I will take the next course in this series for sure.

교육 기관: Nawarerk C

2020년 2월 28일

The content is quite complicated, however, the instructor makes it easier to understand. Case examples are really helpful.

교육 기관: Isha J

2019년 7월 14일

The examination method could've been more rigorous and the readings were not in the right order, but great course overall!

교육 기관: PRAVEEN R

2020년 3월 26일

One of the best social Psychology course available online, which allowed me to understand various norms around the world.

교육 기관: Mohsin A

2020년 12월 26일

Its been a long time I have completed course on social norms, social change, well I think it's quite long but good.

교육 기관: Martin E

2020년 4월 19일

This course enhanced my understanding of human motivations and behaviors including how to determine causal factor

교육 기관: Kariwilliams

2020년 1월 19일

Very informative introduction into identifying and measuring social norms. Thank you for sharing this research.