Chevron Left
Old Norse Mythology in the Sources(으)로 돌아가기

콜로라도 대학교 볼더 캠퍼스의 Old Norse Mythology in the Sources 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
174개의 평가

강좌 소개

This course is an introduction to the religion of the Vikings as it is recorded in Old Norse and Scandinavian literature from the medieval period. You will learn about the different written sources and what they can teach us about pre-Christian religion in northern Europe in the Viking Age. The course surveys the primary collection of Old Norse poetry about the pre-Christian Scandinavian gods, the Poetic Edda. We will also work with the main collections of stories about the Old Norse gods in prose: Snorri Sturluson's Edda and Saxo's History of the Danes....

최상위 리뷰

JH

2021년 11월 23일

Great introduction to this material and subject. Did not want to stop watching the videos. very easy to watch. Lots of information given. hope there will be a continuation of this course.

NH

2022년 9월 19일

Very enjoyable. I learned a lot. I appreciate the quizzes, which enabled me to consolidate the material so that I can remember it (after multiple attempts, which was very useful).

필터링 기준:

Old Norse Mythology in the Sources의 69개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Rafael M C

2022년 2월 1일

I didn't like this course. I stopped after the first module (first week) because I checked and the rest of the course follows the same structure. The videos are monotonous and the instructor could be easily subtituted by a list of bullet points. He rarely makes any observations and the tests are atrocious quizzes wanting people to remember specific dates from an infinity of dates provided. After teh first week, I felt that I didn't teh information I had hoped to learn. The quality of this course is really poor and I don't hink this is a good introduction to the topic. A suggestion is for the videos to be a little more dynamic and interactive. Another thing that could be different is teh presence of the instructor in some of the videos. Finally, I would like to suggest you don;t foucs the quizzes into a bunch of dates only scholars would know by heart.

교육 기관: Ramon v O

2022년 2월 24일

While the topic is highly interesting, and the teacher clearly knows his stuff. The course itself is hardly interactive, and only a powerpoint presentation with a voice reading the exact text of the slides. I stopped the course.

교육 기관: Steven S

2021년 11월 30일

Dr. Nordvig presents interesting information. It is not just the dates and places, it is the who and the why. I took everything I thought I knew, and flipped it on its head. I am glad I took the class and look forward to further classes presented by Dr. Nordvig.

교육 기관: Tomasz G

2022년 4월 7일

Excellent course. I have listened to the "Nordic mythology podcast" in the past, but I needed something more structured and beginner-friendly. This course is just that. Thank you!

교육 기관: Guillermo t I

2022년 9월 20일

My in-depth review here: https://norseplay.blogspot.com/2022/09/norseplay-reviews-courseras-old-norse.html

교육 기관: Paul G

2021년 12월 2일

Useful intro with good course content, spoilt by errors in test questions and lack of responce from coursera to reported issues.

교육 기관: Keryn K

2022년 1월 24일

1. Discussion I didnt seem to get into any discussions in this course - perhaps you could give people 5 marks for posting comments or references? eg I would like to have joined a discussion about norse myths in contemporary culture. And Im sure others could have helped me understand things like kennings

2. More readings I got a lot more from the course when I started to read around the topics of Norse Myth - learnt more (independently) about poetry, runes, trade, archaeology, agriculture, Tacitus, climate change in Scandanavian pre christian times. I would have got more from the course if readings had been provided even if not assessed. For example I was fascinated to read about Snorri as a person and the medieval nobles who must have commissioned collections of myth and would have liked to see a video on his life and times.

3. I feel I know a great deal more about the prechristian themes and stories in poetry collected in medieval times - that go towards making up what we now think of as norse mythology. What I really want to know is how did people who believed in these gods and heroes live their lives on a day to day basis.

교육 기관: Carole M

2022년 9월 12일

The content was interesting but too much was covered, in a dull way, reading from slides and listing items in manuscripts. This was very boring, sadly. Montonous delievry killed the topic, I'm afraid.

The final esssay task is impossible as it is not possible to search our submission fom week one, to find what our bullet pints were.

교육 기관: leslie l

2022년 10월 19일

Lectures but no bibliograpy. No reading list no info on outside sources. The corse has no maintenence sine problems are on going as indicated by discussion. Problems reported a year ago 10/22 still not corrected.

교육 기관: Thomas W

2022년 3월 7일

I really do want to offer my thanks to Dr. Nordvig for offering such an in-depth course for free, and greatly admire his philosophy behind doing so. I was trying to prepare for a Masters degree in Medieval Studies, and already had some experience with medieval Icelandic sagas, but this course hugely informed me about Eddic poetry and Old Norse mythology as an academic study.

From this course I have learned, amongst many other subjects, about gods, monsters, and heroes; about the structure of pre-Christian Scandinavian society and religious groups, and the consequent influence of Christianity on medieval authors; finally about the concept of euhemerism, which was both new and intriguing for me.

For anyone considering taking this course, whether for academic purposes or simply to learn more about a mythology that has permeated Western culture for centuries, I cannot recommend it enough. Dr. Nordvig is clearly an expert in his field, though his presentations are easy to follow and to understand, and I encourage anyone who finishes the course to read his own publications and to read more into the subject matter.

10/10.

교육 기관: Elizabeth G

2022년 1월 29일

This course gives a brief but fairly comprehensive introduction to Old Norse Mythology as found in the early sources, around the 12th to 14th centuries. The lectures are concise and interesting. The instructor has chosen the topics well and also has done a good job condensing the stories for students. I wish there was more explanation about Skaldic and Eddic poetry (meter, rhyme, structure??) but maybe that is best left to another course.

교육 기관: Irene Z

2022년 11월 20일

The course was well researched and presented by Dr. Mathias Nordvig. I found it easily digestible as it was in 2-4 minute video submissions which were easy to understand and process. For me, the history of the Nordic region, the languages and myths was very interesting. Thank you for a solid understanding of Old Nordic Mythology.

교육 기관: Carolina R

2022년 11월 4일

El material es conciso y fácil de comprender. Además está la opción de obtener los apuntes.

Las evaluaciones son justamente de comprensión lectora, es decir, hay que leer y estudiar los apuntes para realizar las tareas.

Me gustó bastante y creo que usaré parte de esta información para mi tesis en Literatura.

교육 기관: Viking G R

2021년 12월 4일

Good Introduction to Norse Mythology, definitely learned some interesting details especially regarding historical evidence of runic inscriptions, age of written records and how written compositions were influenced by the author and the dominant religious dogma of the time.

교육 기관: Linda B

2022년 3월 8일

Through this course I was able to become acquainted with the foundations of Old Norse Mythology-- the terminologies, important texts, important dates, and the historical contexts. I am grateful to have had the opportunity to get a quick intensive on this subject.

교육 기관: Muhammad A

2022년 10월 1일

It is not an easy course since there are many new Norse words with difficult pronunciations but it is very enjoyable and highly rewarding. A fuller transcript of the spoken lectures would be of some help for revision and revisiting the course in the future

교육 기관: Rheged-armer T

2022년 1월 31일

A really good overview for anyone wanting to have an objective academic approach to Old Norse Mythology. It would be a real help to all those discovering Norse mythology so that they could be objective and not take things out of context.

교육 기관: ad k

2022년 3월 28일

An amazing course indeed, and I'd say the most user-friendly course from Colorado system I have taken so far. I have taken a bunch of history and mythology courses, this course taught me a lot though, I gotta admit

교육 기관: Justin H

2021년 11월 24일

Great introduction to this material and subject. Did not want to stop watching the videos. very easy to watch. Lots of information given. hope there will be a continuation of this course.

교육 기관: Nancy H

2022년 9월 20일

Very enjoyable. I learned a lot. I appreciate the quizzes, which enabled me to consolidate the material so that I can remember it (after multiple attempts, which was very useful).

교육 기관: Shawn T

2022년 5월 10일

Just finished 'The Last Kingdom' and found the Saxon/Danish world so fascinating. This further deepened my knowlegde of the history of the broader Scandanavian world. Loved it!

교육 기관: Autumn R

2022년 8월 17일

This covers the basics of the myths and establishes a basic understanding of the historical and cultural context and knowledge that we currently have surrounding the sources.

교육 기관: Victor R

2021년 11월 22일

This was a most fascinating and interesting course that I completed on Coursera so far! Looking forward to complete it with honours as well! Skål and may Odin be with you! :)

교육 기관: Becca K

2022년 11월 16일

Really enjoyed a different perspective than the minor in scandinavian studies I took in undergrad. Wish there was more reading of the actual stories instead of recaps!

교육 기관: Jake H

2022년 8월 1일

Absolutely love your course. Your breakdown of Old Norse Mythology was easy to follow and understand. Thank you so much for your knowledge and time!

In Regards, Jake H